Exhibitions

Mélancholia I © Damien Deroubaix – ADAGP, 2021 courtesy galerie Nosbaum Reding

from June 14 to October 31 2021

La valise d'Orphée
Damien Deroubaix

Curator of the exhibition : Joanna Chevalier


For its reopening, the Musée de la Chasse et de la Nature invites Damien Deroubaix, an emblematic artist of the contemporary French scene, for a temporary exhibition: La Valise dʼOrphée.

Carried away into a world of magic and sacredness, the visitor finds himself immersed in a primitive cave made by the artist, where three hundred zoomorphic figurines modeled in different materials (bronze, ceramic...) and often thousands of years old are lined up. Collected around the Mediterranean basin and collected by Naji Asfar, this Lilliputian ensemble fits in the volume of a suitcase.


During antiquity, these small statuettes were used for their supposed prophylactic power. Revered, feared, and sometimes domesticated, the animal was then part of everyday human life and carried a strong symbolic charge. This collection bears witness to vanished cultures and religions where the animal held a place quite different from that reserved for it by our civilization.


For this bygone world, Damien Deroubaix invests the entire exhibition room by creating a cave adorned with a series of paintings, woodcuts and sculptures, as if to protect these fragile treasures with meanings often shrouded in mystery. By denouncing the cruelty of humans who threaten animal and plant life and the survival of our planet, Damien Deroubaix catapults these millennia-old objects into a current questioning where man and nature interact.


In the museum courtyard, the visitor is greeted by the giant bronze reproduction of the Venus of Hohle Fels, taking the place of Orpheus, who in mythology has the power to charm wild beasts. The artist draws her inspiration from prehistory to resurrect this mother goddess, a symbol of fertility and protection, which provides a note of hope, an opening towards a form of awakening and harmonization.


In this way, La Valise dʼOrphée addresses all kinds of audiences, with Damien Deroubaixʼs expressionism opening up new perspectives of interpretation to the ancient collection.

Damien Deroubaix, the Orpheus Suitcase

Editions Lord Byron, 2021

63 pages
ISBN 978-2-491901110
20 €

partenaires

Communication

Ugo Deslandes

Responsable de la communication

du musée de la Chasse et de la Nature

tél. 01 53 01 92 40

u.deslandes@chassenature.org


Relations avec la presse

Alambret Communication

Margaux Graire

margaux@alambret.com

Tél. 01 48 87 70 77

www.alambret.com

past exhibits

Mélancholia I © Damien Deroubaix – ADAGP, 2021 courtesy galerie Nosbaum Reding

Expositions

Mélancholia I © Damien Deroubaix – ADAGP, 2021 courtesy galerie Nosbaum Reding

du 14 juin au 31 octobre 2021

La Valise d'Orphée
Damien Deroubaix

Commissariat de l'exposition : Joanna Chevalier


Pour sa réouverture, le Musée de la Chasse et de la Nature invite Damien Deroubaix, artiste emblématique de la scène française contemporaine, pour une exposition temporaire : La Valise dʼOrphée.

Emporté dans un monde de magie et de sacré, le visiteur se trouve plongé dans une grotte primitive réalisée par lʼartiste, où sont alignées trois cents figurines zoomorphiques modelées en différents matériaux (bronze, céramique...) et souvent vieilles de plusieurs milliers dʼannées. Recueillies autour du bassin méditerranéen et collectionnées par Naji Asfar, cet ensemble lilliputien tient dans le volume dʼune valise.


Durant lʼAntiquité, ces petites statuettes étaient utilisées pour leur pouvoir prophylactique supposé. Vénéré, redouté, parfois domestiqué, lʼanimal faisait alors partie du quotidien des humains et véhiculait une forte charge symbolique. Cette collection témoigne de cultures et de religions disparues où lʼanimal tenait une place bien différente de celle que lui réserve notre civilisation.


Pour ce monde révolu, Damien Deroubaix investit toute la salle dʼexposition en créant une grotte ornée dʼune série de tableaux, gravures sur bois et sculptures, comme pour protéger ces fragiles trésors aux significations souvent nimbées de mystères. En dénonçant la cruauté des humains qui menacent la vie animale, végétale et la survie de notre planète, Damien Deroubaix catapulte ces objets millénaires vers un questionnement actuel où lʼhomme et la nature se trouvent en interaction.


Dans la cour du musée, le visiteur est accueilli par la reproduction géante en bronze de la Vénus de Hohle Fels, prenant la place dʼOrphée qui, dans la mythologie, a le pouvoir de charmer les bêtes sauvages. Lʼartiste puise son inspiration dans la Préhistoire pour faire resurgir cette déesse-mère, symbole de fécondité et de protection, qui donne une note dʼespoir, une ouverture vers une forme dʼéveil et dʼharmonisation.


Ainsi, La Valise dʼOrphée sʼadresse à toute sorte de publics, lʼexpressionnisme de Damien Deroubaix ouvrant de nouvelles perspectives dʼinterprétation à la collection antique.

When Orpheus sang, an ancient bestiary

Editions Geuthner, 2004

285 pages
ISBN 2-7053-3741-5
65 €

Damien Deroubaix, La Valise d’Orphée

Editions Lord Byron, 2021

63 pages
ISBN 978-2-491901110
20 €

partenaires

Communication

Ugo Deslandes

Responsable de la communication

du musée de la Chasse et de la Nature

tél. 01 53 01 92 40

u.deslandes@chassenature.org


Relations avec la presse

Alambret Communication

Margaux Graire

margaux@alambret.com

Tél. 01 48 87 70 77

www.alambret.com

expositions passées

Mélancholia I © Damien Deroubaix – ADAGP, 2021 courtesy galerie Nosbaum Reding