Exhibitions

© Musée de la Chasse et de la Nature – ADAGP, 2021, Sylvie Durand

from June 25 to September 19 2021

Parties de campagne
Xavier de Poret

Exhibition outside the walls at the Château de Carrouges

In 2013, the Musée de la Chasse et de la Nature received an exceptional gift of 50 drawings by the animal artist, worldly portraitist, and illustrator Xavier de Poret (1894-1975). A selection of some thirty studies, portraits, and genre scenes from this collection is presented in the new rooms set up by the Museum at the Château de Carrouges as part of a partnership with the Centre des monuments nationaux.

Xavier de Poret spent part of his childhood in the countryside where he observed birds very closely. As a rider and hunter at court, he developed a great knowledge of horses. Having received drawing lessons at an early age, a comfortable existence gave him complete freedom to sʼaddicate himself to his art. The precision of his line made him an appreciated portraitist. He thus painted portraits of Queen Elizabeth ii and her children as well as the Belgian and Luxembourg sovereigns. 


The particular care he takes in translating animal expressions contributes to his fame. Recognition came very quickly, giving him the opportunity to collaborate on numerous books and hunting magazines. His long collaboration with the Hermès house will mark a generation of bourgeois elegance, so many drawings he gives for animal-themed silk squares (Hinds, Boots, Squirrels, Chickadees, Chickadees, Foxes, Ducks, Doves...).

partenaires

Contact presse

sulian.neville@monuments-nationaux.fr

01 44 61 22 96

past exhibits

© Musée de la Chasse et de la Nature – ADAGP, 2021, Sylvie Durand

Expositions

© Musée de la Chasse et de la Nature – ADAGP, 2021, Sylvie Durand

du 25 juin au 19 septembre 2021

Parties de campagne
Xavier de Poret

Exposition hors les murs au Château de Carrouges

En 2013, le Musée de la Chasse et de la Nature a reçu un don exceptionnel de 50 dessins de lʼartiste animalier, portraitiste mondain et illustrateur Xavier de Poret (1894-1975). Une sélection dʼune trentaine dʼétudes, portraits et scènes de genre issues de cette collection est présentée dans les nouvelles salles aménagées par le Musée au château de Carrouges dans le cadre dʼun partenariat avec le Centre des monuments nationaux.

Xavier de Poret passe une partie de son enfance à la campagne où il observe de très près les oiseaux. Cavalier et chasseur à courre, il développe une grande connaissance du cheval. Ayant reçu très tôt des cours de dessin, une existence confortable lui donne toute liberté pour sʼadonner à son art. La précision de son trait en fait un portraitiste apprécié. Il réalise ainsi le portrait de la reine Elizabeth ii et de ses enfants ainsi que des souverains Belges et Luxembourgeois. 


Le soin particulier quʼil met à traduire les expressions animales contribue à sa notoriété. La reconnaissance vient très vite, lui donnant lʼoccasion de collaborer à de nombreux ouvrages et revues cynégétiques. Sa longue collaboration avec la maison Hermès marquera une génération dʼélégance bourgeoise, tant il donne de dessins pour des carrés de soie à thèmes animaliers (Les Biches, Les Bottes, Les Écureuils, Les Mésanges, Les Poulinières, Les Renards, Les Teckels, Les Tourterelles…).

Xavier de Poret.jpg

Xavier de Poret, 1894-1975

Editions Slatkine, 2000

136 pages
ISBN 2-05-1018308
279 €

partenaires

Contact presse

sulian.neville@monuments-nationaux.fr 

01 44 61 22 96 

expositions passées

© Musée de la Chasse et de la Nature – ADAGP, 2021, Sylvie Durand