Exhibitions

Tableaux vivants © Frigesch Lampelmayer GmbH

from November 8 2016 to February 12 2017

"Living pictures"
Gloria Friedmann

BIPEDS, QUADRUPEDS AND EASEL PAINTING (TRIPOD)

In parallel with the exhibition Hunting Scenes in Germany, Rayski / Baselitz, the museum is interested in the relationship between man and nature through the inspiration of an artist of Germanic origin. Born in Germany, where she lived until she moved to France in 1977, Gloria Friedmann uses various modes of artistic expression - performances, installations, painting or sculpture - to highlight the way we perceive our ecosystem. Don't we think of nature as something separate from ourselves, something that we can act upon, but which does not act upon us?

(Automatically translated with Google Translate)

In her live paintings as well as in her sculptures, Gloria Friedmann questions this apparent discontinuity that characterizes modern thinking. By bringing together seemingly incompatible elements of everyday life - natural elements, living animals affixed to products of human industry - she introduces a questioning of our way of life.


For the first time, all the videos documenting the artist's performances throughout the 1990s are presented in one place. A few installations, some of which have never been shown before, complete this committed work.

COMMUNICATION

Responsable de la communication du musée de la Chasse et de la Nature

Ugo Deslandes

tél. 01 53 01 92 40

u.deslandes@chassenature.org


RELATIONS AVEC LA PRESSE

Alambret Communication

Angélique Guillemain

angelique@alambret.com

Leila Neirijnck

leila@alambret.com

Tél. 01 48 87 70 77

www.alambret.com

past exhibits

Tableaux vivants © Frigesch Lampelmayer GmbH

Expositions

Tableaux vivants © Frigesch Lampelmayer GmbH

du 8 novembre 2016 au 12 février 2017

«Tableaux vivants»
Gloria Friedmann

BIPÈDES, QUADRUPÈDES ET PEINTURE SUR CHEVALET (TRÉPIED)

Parallèlement à l’exposition Scènes de chasse en Allemagne, Rayski / Baselitz, le musée s’intéresse au rapport de l’homme à la nature à travers ce qu’il inspire à une artiste d’origine germanique. Née en Allemagne où elle a vécu jusqu’à son installation en France en 1977, Gloria Friedmann recourt à divers modes d’expression artistique – performances, installations, peinture ou sculpture – pour mettre en évidence la manière dont nous percevons notre écosystème. Ne pensons-nous pas la nature comme un ensemble distinct de nous-même, sur lequel nous pourrions agir, mais qui n’agirait pas sur nous ?

Dans ses tableaux vivants comme dans ses sculptures, Gloria Friedmann met en cause cette apparente discontinuité qui caractérise la pensée moderne. En rapprochant des éléments du quotidien à priori incompatibles – éléments naturels, animaux vivants apposés à des produits de l’industrie humaine – elle introduit un questionnement sur notre mode de vie.


Pour la première fois sont présentées en un même lieu l’ensemble des vidéos documentant les performances réalisées par l’artiste tout au long des années 1990. Quelques installations, dont certaines inédites, viennent compléter ce travail engagé.

COMMUNICATION

Responsable de la communication du musée de la Chasse et de la Nature

Ugo Deslandes

tél. 01 53 01 92 40

u.deslandes@chassenature.org


RELATIONS AVEC LA PRESSE

Alambret Communication

Angélique Guillemain

angelique@alambret.com

Leila Neirijnck

leila@alambret.com

Tél. 01 48 87 70 77

www.alambret.com

expositions passées

Tableaux vivants © Frigesch Lampelmayer GmbH