Rendez-vous

© Off XXI

from September 18 to September 19 2021

The paper organ with François-Xavier Richard

European Heritage Days

On the occasion of the 38th European Heritage Days, the Museum of Hunting and Nature is open to the public for free all weekend. A singular creator, François-Xavier Richard founded the dʼOffard workshops, which perpetuate the expertise of the plank wallpapers of the great manufactures of the 18th and 19th centuries.

After having printed, embossed, embossed, toned, and polished it for years, François-Xavier Richard, Villa Kujoyama laureate [1] in 2017, is embarking on a new approach to paper using its his Japanese avatar (washi), recognized as an Intangible World Heritage Site by lʼunesco. As part of his residency at Villa Kujoyama in Kyoto, he developed a project called LʼOrgue of Paper, a vast architectural structure lined with invented musical instruments to make a range of wonderful washi paper sing. On the occasion of these Heritage Days, the organ is shown and activated for the first time with the complicity of artists from all over the world.


[1] Inaugurated in 1992 in Kyoto, Villa Kujoyama is the only French artist residence in Asia. Its reopening in 2014 was made possible after restoration work carried out with the support of Pierre Bergé. The Villa Kujoyama is an artistic establishment of the cultural cooperation network of the Ministry of Europe and Foreign Affairs. It is part of the French Institute of Japan and is supported by the Bettencourt Schueller Foundation, which is the main sponsor, and the French Institute.

rendez-vous à venir

past appointments

© Off XXI

Rendez-vous

© Off XXI

du 18 septembre au 19 septembre 2021

L’orgue de papier avec François-Xavier Richard

Journées européennes du Patrimoine

A lʼoccasion des 38e Journées européennes du patrimoine, le Musée de la Chasse et de la Nature est ouvert gratuitement au public tout le week-end. Créateur singulier, François-Xavier Richard a fondé les ateliers dʼOffard qui perpétuent le savoir-faire des papiers peints à la planche des grandes manufactures des XVIIIe et XIXe siècles.

Après lʼavoir imprimé, gaufré, repoussé, tontissé, et poli depuis des années, François-Xavier Richard, lauréat de la Villa Kujoyama [1] en 2017, se lance dans une nouvelle approche du papier en utilisant son avatar japonais (washi), reconnu Patrimoine mondial immatériel de lʼunesco. Dans le cadre de sa résidence à la Villa Kujoyama à Kyoto, il a mis au point un projet intitulé LʼOrgue de papier, vaste structure architecturale garnie dʼinstruments de musique inventés pour faire chanter toute une gamme de merveilleux papiers washi. A lʼoccasion de ces Journées du patrimoine, lʼorgue est montré et activé pour la première fois avec la complicité dʼartistes venus de tous les horizons.


[1] Inaugurée en 1992 à Kyoto, la Villa Kujoyama est l’unique résidence d’artistes française en Asie. Sa réouverture, en 2014, a été rendue possible après des travaux de restauration menés avec le soutien de Pierre Bergé. La Villa Kujoyama est un établissement artistique du réseau de coopération culturelle du ministère de l’Europe et des Affaires étrangères. Relevant de l’Institut français du Japon, elle bénéficie du soutien de la Fondation Bettencourt Schueller, qui en est le mécène principal, et de l’Institut français.

Entrée libre

rendez-vous à venir

rendez-vous passés

© Off XXI