Rendez-vous

© Damien Deroubaix – ADAGP, 2021, Courtesy galerie In Situ

Wednesday 13 October 2021 ↦ 19h30

A contemporary tale

by Annabelle Gugnon

Once upon a time on Earth, on all six continents (one of them plastic), a humanity of polymers, hydrocarbons and mass destruction was sʼself-satisfied: "Mirror, mirror, tell us that we are the most powerful, the most innovative, the most intelligent! "

In response, the mirror reflected this truth: "Your power is your worst enemy. You know this well, you who speak of dʼanthropocene to denounce your calamitous impacts. "To ward off this state of affairs, a painter named Damien Deroubaix called upon the wisdom of animals, zoomorphic amulets from ancient times, and the powers of paint. Annabelle Gugnon has written A Contemporary Tale and delivers a unique reading of it while illustrating it with paintings by Damien Deroubaix, with whom she dialogues at the conclusion of the reading. 


Annabelle Gugnon is an art critic and author. She recently presented the work of Alice Anderson (nominated for the 2020 Marcel Duchamp Prize) at the Centre Pompidou. She is a regular contributor to Art Press and Connaissance des Arts. She is a member of the Société des Gens de Lettres and a member of the Freudian Psychoanalytic Society.

rendez-vous à venir

past appointments

© Damien Deroubaix – ADAGP, 2021, Courtesy galerie In Situ

Rendez-vous

© Damien Deroubaix – ADAGP, 2021, Courtesy galerie In Situ

mercredi 13 octobre 2021 ↦ 19h30

Un conte contemporain

Par Annabelle Gugnon

Il était une fois sur la Terre, sur les six continents (dont un en plastique), une humanité de polymères, dʼhydrocarbures et de destructions massives qui sʼauto-satisfaisait : « Miroir, miroir, dis-nous que nous sommes les plus puissants, les plus innovants, les plus intelligents ! »

En réponse, le miroir fit refléter cette vérité : « Votre puissance est votre pire ennemie. Vous le savez bien, vous qui parlez dʼanthropocène pour dénoncer vos impacts calamiteux. » Pour conjurer cet état des lieux, un peintre du nom de Damien Deroubaix fit appel à la sagesse des animaux, aux amulettes zoomorphes des temps anciens et aux pouvoirs de la peinture. Annabelle Gugnon a écrit Un conte contemporain et en livre une unique lecture tout en lʼillustrant des tableaux de Damien Deroubaix, avec lequel elle dialogue à lʼissue de la lecture. 


Annabelle Gugnon est critique dʼart et auteur. Elle a récemment présenté au Centre Pompidou lʼœuvre dʼAlice Anderson (nommée pour le prix Marcel Duchamp 2020). Elle est une collaboratrice régulière dʼArt Press et de Connaissance des Arts. Elle est membre de la Société des Gens de Lettres et membre de la Société de psychanalyse freudienne.

rendez-vous à venir

rendez-vous passés

© Damien Deroubaix – ADAGP, 2021, Courtesy galerie In Situ